Skip to content
Main site
Main site

Deadlines and reminders

Stay on top of your tasks with deadlines and reminders

Setting deadlines and reminders is simple with dypt. You can add up to three reminders for each task leading up to the deadline, ensuring you stay on top of your tasks even on busy days.


Setting deadlines

Setting a deadline for a task is straightforward.

To set a deadline for the task you are viewing, click the Deadline action button to open the deadline picker. For a subtask, open its task menu and select Deadline to see these options:

  • Today — today at 6pm; hidden from 6pm onwards.
  • Tomorrow — tomorrow at 6pm.
  • Next week — the first day of next week at 6pm, using the week-start day you chose in Settings. If today is that day, it means seven days from today.
  • Pick a date… — open the full deadline picker to choose a date, time and reminders.
  • Remove deadline — shown when a deadline is set; removes the deadline and its reminders.

These shortcuts use the timezone in your settings and keep your reminders for the new deadline. Even reminders already sent can remind you again for the new deadline.

Press d when a task is selected, or while its menu is open, to open the full deadline picker directly. In the picker, use a quick-set option or enter a date and time manually.

You can also set a deadline for a new task by selecting a day in the calendar and pressing add task. To change an existing deadline from the calendar, open the task's ⋮ menu in the day's list and choose Change deadline.

You can filter by deadline, see the filtering and sorting page.

Setting reminders

Enabling notifications

Before you set reminders, ensure you've enabled notifications. Notifications are device specific, so you'll need to enable them on each device you use dypt on.

  1. When you login to dypt for the first time on a new device, a prompt will pop up at the top of the screen inviting you to enable notifications
  2. Press "Enable"
  3. Allow the browser (or your app if you've installed dypt) to send you notifications by pressing "Allow" on the permission prompt

You'll receive a welcome notification within a few minutes to confirm it's working.

Reenabling notifications

If you initially disabled notifications, you can enable them via the deadline picker.

  1. Open the deadline picker for any task
  2. If notifications are disabled, you'll see an "Enable notifications" button
  3. Press "Enable notifications"
  4. Press "Allow" on the permission prompt that follows

Supported devices

Notifications work on all major browsers and devices including Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge, both on desktop and mobile.

There are however, several caveats to be aware of:

  • If you're using Apple iOS (e.g. iPhone, iPad), notifications are only supported on iOS 16.4+ and you need to install dypt
  • If you're using macOS (e.g. Macbook Pro), notifications are only supported on macOS 14+ via Safari
  • If you're using dypt on a computer, notifications are only sent whilst the browser is open (but you don't have to have the dypt tab open specifically)
  • You can also install dypt on your computer for a native app like experience. Doing so will allow you to receive notifications even when the browser or app is closed
  • Notifications may not work in private or incognito browsing. Brave may need an extra setting enabled (see below).

Notifications still aren’t working

If you have allowed notifications but dypt still says it could not register your device, check whether your browser settings or an extension are blocking notifications. Then try enabling them again in the deadline picker or Settings → Notifications.

In Brave, open brave://settings/privacy, turn on Use Google services for push messaging, relaunch Brave and try again.

Adding reminders to a task

  1. Open the deadline picker for the task and select a deadline.
  2. If notifications are enabled, you'll see an "Add reminder" button.
  3. Click "Add reminder" to set up to three reminders for each task.
  4. Select how long before the deadline you'd like to be reminded and press "Save".

At the time of your reminder, you'll receive a notification on your device. Clicking on the notification will take you straight to the task in dypt.

You can come back to the deadline picker at any time to edit or remove your reminders. After a reminder has been sent, you'll see "Sent" in green text next to it.

You can delete any future reminders if you change your mind by pressing the cross icon and then pressing "Save".

Disabling notifications

To disable notifications, go to the Notifications menu and set "Device notifications" to off.

You will no longer receive task reminders on your device.